NRJ Mastermix with Dionysos 014

Fridays at 1 AM on NRJ Lebanon 99.0 FM

Moderator: MODs

Postby DIONYSOS » Wed Sep 03, 2008 11:55 am

Thanks for all the valuable input guys. Well I certainly am not interested in the AE program because I surely don't have the time for it nor am I interested to pursue a career in that domain, so EMP it is if I have enough free time for it, and certainly a lot of home practice during my lonely Dubai nights!
User avatar
DIONYSOS
Junior Admin
Junior Admin
 
Posts: 10060
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Beirut, Lebanon

Postby Proof » Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:56 pm

Icepick wrote:basicly there are no rules for production, whatever sounds good to your ears just throw it in...


Hopefully that ear has a good sense. Hahaha.

Also, I'd like to advice some people here. Please don't stick to Reason ... its so limited. The best thing that came out was ReWire. So, find another DAW ... and if u want Reason ... just rewire the controls =) !
User avatar
Proof
Ultimate Trancer
Ultimate Trancer
 
Posts: 4676
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:14 am

Postby DIONYSOS » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:45 am

Ah well, since we've drifted off topic this far, wouldn't hurt to drift some more: WHICH DAW AND WHY? THAT IS THE QUESTION :mrgreen:
User avatar
DIONYSOS
Junior Admin
Junior Admin
 
Posts: 10060
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Beirut, Lebanon

Postby Proof » Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:43 pm

Simple.

Choose between these:

Cubase SX 3/4
Ableton Live 7
Logic Pro 8


Finish.

Ableton is just amazing with its ease, especially 7. I use it now, and I think i'll be sticking to it for a while. Thing is, it'll always come with upgrades and enhancements.

Cubase SX 3/4, my other alternative. Brilliant with midi and almost an industry standard (if you're using PC). There's nothing you can't do in Cubase.

Logic ... only if you're going Mac. I'm on a mac, but I still work with Ableton, simply because I could integrate my live sets there as well. I work simple.
User avatar
Proof
Ultimate Trancer
Ultimate Trancer
 
Posts: 4676
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:14 am

Postby Icepick » Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:01 pm

once upon a time there was a boy that was born to make a change in this cruel world of mortals. this boy became a man and this man became old and died. thats about it..
User avatar
Icepick
Fulltime Trancer
Fulltime Trancer
 
Posts: 1567
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:37 pm

Postby DIONYSOS » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:06 pm

I'm getting a Mac soon so I'm mostly leaning towards Logic... but then the next question becomes: WHICH VSTs? :P
User avatar
DIONYSOS
Junior Admin
Junior Admin
 
Posts: 10060
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Beirut, Lebanon

Postby Icepick » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:19 pm

Native Instruments Komplete...

8 gbs full of native instruments VSTs ...
Vanguard
Sonar
Atmosphere
Access Virus

..... list goes on if you want i can hook you up with a good webpage for all the vsts u would need !
once upon a time there was a boy that was born to make a change in this cruel world of mortals. this boy became a man and this man became old and died. thats about it..
User avatar
Icepick
Fulltime Trancer
Fulltime Trancer
 
Posts: 1567
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:37 pm

Postby DIONYSOS » Sat Sep 06, 2008 1:32 pm

Native Instruments Komplete alone is enough?
User avatar
DIONYSOS
Junior Admin
Junior Admin
 
Posts: 10060
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Beirut, Lebanon

Postby Proof » Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:34 am

Yeah, NI's Komplete 5 is basically all you need.

Battery = Sampler
Absynth = Pads ... etc
Massive = Leads / Basslines ... what not.
FM8 = Pads ... fx, sometimes leads.
Guitar Rig = Guitar ... rig, lol.

Mind you, they need a f*ck load of cpu processing. But deadly.



Another couple of VSTi's I'd recommend:

Spectrasonics Trilogy & Atmosphere


best bet is to stick to a few and master the synthesis in it.

Vst Plugins:

Sonalksis
Ohmforce
Releases:
- Rodrigo Mateo - Carbon Monoxide (Praveen Achary Remix) [Baires Records]
- Alter Breed - Blue White (Praveen Achary Remix) [Spherax Recordings]
- Praveen Achary - Butterflies [Mirabilis Recordings]
- Praveen Achary - Pull My Legato [MakTub Music]
- Praveen Achary - Crossover (Incl remixes by Fiord, Manuel Sofia (MOS) & Tanseer) [MakTub Music]
User avatar
Proof
Ultimate Trancer
Ultimate Trancer
 
Posts: 4676
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:14 am

Postby DIONYSOS » Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:06 pm

Proof wrote:Guitar Rig = Guitar ... rig, lol.

HAHAHA :lol:

Would a MacBook Pro 2.7GHz 4GB 300GB be enough?


Now that this topic drifted off its course (no problem though), the newer Mastermix topic was shadowed, so here's the linky:

http://www.trancehits.com/viewtopic.php?t=16591
User avatar
DIONYSOS
Junior Admin
Junior Admin
 
Posts: 10060
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Beirut, Lebanon

Postby Icepick » Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:28 pm

^Yes it will be enough, since already macs have no cpu crash problems nor cpu drainage from programs....so basically its perfect to use!

Check out the link i posted above might help you out on things !
once upon a time there was a boy that was born to make a change in this cruel world of mortals. this boy became a man and this man became old and died. thats about it..
User avatar
Icepick
Fulltime Trancer
Fulltime Trancer
 
Posts: 1567
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:37 pm

Postby Proof » Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:48 pm

DIONYSOS wrote:
Would a MacBook Pro 2.7GHz 4GB 300GB be enough?


More than enough. I have a Macbook Pro 2.4Ghz, 2GB ... and its running smoothly. Though, I will be upgrading to 4GB later on. But, the only reason I got a 'laptop' for was so that I can incorporate my DJ'ing with it. But, tbh ... if ur not going to be using the laptop for any other use (dj'ing / live performance), then I wouldn't go for the MacBook Pro. Rather, the iMac ... cuz its cheaper, semi-portable & with the money that you'll be getting the macbook pro for ... you can upgrade the iMac for an even better spec.
User avatar
Proof
Ultimate Trancer
Ultimate Trancer
 
Posts: 4676
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:14 am

Postby DIONYSOS » Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:28 am

Cool! Well actually one of the reasons I'm going for the laptop is because I'll be needing a laptop for personal use if I'm relocating to Dubai, so I figured I'd make it my production unit as well. Thanks for all the advice guys, I'll probably get back to you with more questions once I get started :mrgreen:
User avatar
DIONYSOS
Junior Admin
Junior Admin
 
Posts: 10060
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Beirut, Lebanon

Previous

Return to NRJ Mastermix with Dionysos

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron