Serious problem with Firefox

Everything related to computer hardware, software, internet and webdesign.

Moderator: MODs

Postby TranceFusion » Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:54 am

Hehehe what a nice convo about Windows and Mac :mrgreen:
I agree that the user is most of the times the cause. I'm not suggesting that i just know how to start the OS, logon here and there, browse this and that. But yea it happens that a mistake is done just like with everyone else when it comes to IT stuff. I cleaned the PC from all the dust (that was scary to see how much dust there was! :shock:) and the temperature dropped back to 43 :mrgreen: i also scanned with Spyware Doc and Registry Mechanic. It was also scary to see how many "problems" they found! I updated the OS to Service Pack 3 today. Eventually i will have to format it i suppose.
On the other hand somewhere deep deep deep in my mind i am thinking of getting a new PC :P

I've been using Windows for 12.5 years now and for me Mac is harder to use :lol: i prefer to stick with Win ^_^
* Eternally Living In *
***A State Of Trance***

Image
When you dream, there are no rules
People Can Fly
Anything can happen
User avatar
TranceFusion
Ultimate Trancer
Ultimate Trancer
 
Posts: 4588
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 2:04 pm
Location: Physically in Lebanon, mentally in Poland

Postby System.S » Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:11 pm

The fact that you say MAC IS HARDER TO USE shows that you never physically used Mac, thats what everyone who never used Mac says! Or you probably did few clicks and opened some applications and did not know how to close them after :P

Its 2 basic difference: the mouse don't have a physical right click (you hit a key on the keyboard + a mouse click and its a right click) and 2, the maximize, minimize and close are on the left top corner, not right. Not to mention that some keyboard shortcuts are different but within the same essence. Thats it. You can also see how quickly you can switch here. BTW, you will see in the videos that things are running fast, when the presenter open an application it opens in a split second, thats real (unlike a windows presentation) thats how fast things run on a Mac.
User avatar
System.S
Fulltime Trancer
Fulltime Trancer
 
Posts: 1812
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:52 am
Location: London

Postby Genesis » Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:35 am

Kamil, I used to think just the same. In fact, when I bought my Mac, all I could think about was: what if I bought a computer that I can't use? How am I going to get my money back?

But then I came home, pulled out of the box and the rest was history :biggrin:

It's ridiculously easy to use!
If your trance was a pretty blonde ballerina; then what I listen to is a peed-off bulky bouncer pounding the living shit out of your ballerina.
User avatar
Genesis
Psy FrEaK
Psy FrEaK
 
Posts: 6453
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 5:09 pm
Location: Underworld

Postby e-sam » Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:52 pm

Guys everyone has a need & to Kamil's its not Mac. Running fast or running slow this isn't the debate. You want fast? Then dump your Mac & replace with Redhat cause it pwns Mac anytime of the year with speed, reliability & stability. Now enough with the MS vs Mac! This topic was about Firefox & not "Hey my Mac is better than your MS".
Image
User avatar
e-sam
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3332
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: 123.4 light years from your location

Postby Genesis » Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:44 am

Isam, when did we ever stick to a topic? :p
If your trance was a pretty blonde ballerina; then what I listen to is a peed-off bulky bouncer pounding the living shit out of your ballerina.
User avatar
Genesis
Psy FrEaK
Psy FrEaK
 
Posts: 6453
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 5:09 pm
Location: Underworld

Postby TranceFusion » Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:05 am

I bought Spyware Doctor and Registry Mechanic and cleaned the PC. But 9 "problems" couldn't be repaired (deleted) with Registry Mechanic for some reason. The software also says that the system health is low. I downloaded Service Pack 3 (and 2 for after the format). Despite the fact that i got rid of all the dust inside the PC the temperature is now back between 50 and 73 (it should be below 45) so i assume that the fan has to be changed. I'll do a backup of files and format ^_^ so far Firefox seems to be working fine the last couple of days although it makes an excessive use of the CPU (above 80%) when 10 tabs are opened. I haven't seen any "weird" appearance of the websites recently.
* Eternally Living In *
***A State Of Trance***

Image
When you dream, there are no rules
People Can Fly
Anything can happen
User avatar
TranceFusion
Ultimate Trancer
Ultimate Trancer
 
Posts: 4588
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 2:04 pm
Location: Physically in Lebanon, mentally in Poland

Postby System.S » Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:20 am

Your fan (or could be to cooler) needs to be changed (heat will affect your processor) the cooler is that silver metallic piece that the fan rest on, over the processor.

In regards to registry files not being fixed make sure all applications are closed when you are doing the fixes, close everything (also programs running in the task tray near the clock).
User avatar
System.S
Fulltime Trancer
Fulltime Trancer
 
Posts: 1812
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:52 am
Location: London

Postby TranceFusion » Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:41 pm

Oops i forgot to close the program :oops: well i did now and the files to be deleted were ignored again (the program is Kaspersky - which actually i want to get rid of asap). I guess that it's even better to change both the fan and the cooler ^_^
* Eternally Living In *
***A State Of Trance***

Image
When you dream, there are no rules
People Can Fly
Anything can happen
User avatar
TranceFusion
Ultimate Trancer
Ultimate Trancer
 
Posts: 4588
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 2:04 pm
Location: Physically in Lebanon, mentally in Poland

Postby e-sam » Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:49 pm

^Best approach to fix is in "Safe Mode". Before Windows starts keep hitting F8 from the BIOS screen (The first text you see when you boot your PC).

Gen: You are right we never did :|
Image
User avatar
e-sam
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3332
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: 123.4 light years from your location

Postby TranceFusion » Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:09 pm

Yea i can try the safe mode. I talked to a friend who is into that stuff (repairing pc etc...). Today or tomorrow i'll get a new fan and put it inside. Does the cooler come with the fan or are they separate parts?
* Eternally Living In *
***A State Of Trance***

Image
When you dream, there are no rules
People Can Fly
Anything can happen
User avatar
TranceFusion
Ultimate Trancer
Ultimate Trancer
 
Posts: 4588
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 2:04 pm
Location: Physically in Lebanon, mentally in Poland

Postby System.S » Sat Feb 14, 2009 2:23 am

They come separate and in a bundle. Scythe are good.
User avatar
System.S
Fulltime Trancer
Fulltime Trancer
 
Posts: 1812
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:52 am
Location: London

Postby TranceFusion » Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:34 pm

Fan and cooler changed, pc formatted, everything reinstalled. I had to delete Service Pack 3 cuz it does problems here.
So far no problem at all with the temperature of the procesor and Firefox :)
* Eternally Living In *
***A State Of Trance***

Image
When you dream, there are no rules
People Can Fly
Anything can happen
User avatar
TranceFusion
Ultimate Trancer
Ultimate Trancer
 
Posts: 4588
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 2:04 pm
Location: Physically in Lebanon, mentally in Poland

Re: Serious problem with Firefox

Postby Macjordan » Tue Nov 02, 2010 2:34 pm

you can update your firefox version with latest one.
this will help you to overcome this problem.
Macjordan
New Trancer
New Trancer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:32 am

Previous

Return to Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron