IRB Try of the Year 2009

Everything related to sports.

Moderator: MODs

IRB Try of the Year 2009

Postby Genesis » Tue Dec 15, 2009 4:22 pm

The International Rugby Board and the International Rugby Players' Association have launched the IRPA Try of the Year Award 2009.
For the first time, the global Rugby family can vote online for their favourite try from a shortlist of superb tries from the RBS Six Nations, British & Irish Lions Series, Tri Nations and June and November internationals.
Rugby fans are invited to visit and click on the IRPA Try of the Year to see the 14 players in contention for the coveted Award. By clicking on the player's image, fans can view the tries and then vote for their preferred choice.

"The IRPA Try of the Year is a hugely anticipated Award. Fans have an opportunity to vote for players representing eight nations, plus the British & Irish Lions, and I am sure the vote will be close," said IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset.
IRPA representatives have narrowed the field to the final 15. France and New Zealand have three tries each with Shane Williams the only player to have two tries featured in the shortlist, one for Wales and one for the British & Irish Lions.
Three tries from the Lions Series make the cut, Jaque Fourie and Rob Kearney making up the trio, with three from the Tri Nations and three from the RBS Six Nations.

Jamie Heaslip's wonderful try against France in February is included and the number 8 will hope to follow in the footsteps of his Ireland captain Brian O'Driscoll, who won the inaugural IRPA Try of the Year Award for his try against Australia in June 2008.
Russia's Alexander Yanyushkin also features for his sensational score against Uruguay at the IRB Nations Cup in June.
The online poll will close on December 31, 2009 and the winner will be announced in early January.

Votes for IRPA Try of the Year should be sent to

The online poll will stay open until December 31, 2009 and the winner will be announced in early January.

Here's the tries:

1 Berrick Barnes | 2 Lee Byrne | 3 Gonzalo Comacho
4 Jaque Fourie | 5 Imanol Harinordoquy | 6 Jamie Heaslip
7 Cedric Heymans | 8 Rob Kearney | 9 Ma'a Nonu
10 Isaac Ross | 11 Shane Williams | 12 Alexander Yanyushkin
13 Vincent Clerc | 14 Shane Williams | 15 Mils Muliaina

And a video of two parts of them tries:

For me it was easily try 7: Cedric Heymans... Brilliant effort!!
User avatar
Psy FrEaK
Psy FrEaK
Posts: 6453
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 5:09 pm
Location: Underworld

Return to Sports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest